Tennessee Auto Insurance - (TN)

Depending on where you live, you face a very different series of auto insurance laws than someone in a neighboring state might. Whether you're thinking of renewing your policy or are considering a move across the country, it's crucial to understand the state's regulations and how they can impact your policy. No matter where you live and the law, it's always recommended to get protection that far exceeds state minimum requirements. Some states don't require coverage, while others spell out in very specific terms the types of coverage you must carry. Be sure to get several competitive quotes from different companies to verify that you're receiving the best coverage to meet your needs.

How to get the Protection You Need

It might come as a surprise to find out that having a policy is not required in the state of Tennessee. That said, there are specific guidelines required of all drivers to maintain proper financial responsibility.

  • If you are in an accident, you must be able to prove that you have the resources (money) necessary to pay for damages or injuries caused in the accident. This can be extremely costly in the event of an accident, and it's strongly recommended that you purchase complete protection instead. In fact, most drivers in Tennessee have a well-funded policy.
  • To meet the proof of financial responsibility standard, you must either obtain coverage, or place a deposit or bond that meet the state requirements. If you opt not to get a policy, you must fill out a form with the Department of Safety that proves you have the money on deposit.
  • If you decide to get a policy, you must obtain coverage that meets at least these state minimums. Remember that it's wise to obtain coverage far in excess of these standards.
  • $25,000 for one injury or death
  • $50,000 for all injuries or deaths
  • $15,000.00 for property damage in a single accident
  • You will be asked to provide proof of financial responsibility if you are in an accident or moving violation . It won't matter who's at fault.
  • Failure to comply with the state financial responsibility regulations can result in a $100 fine and the suspension of your license.
  • If you financed your vehicle, you will be required by your lien holder to get insurance.
  • While having a policy may not be required, you should think carefully about foregoing your coverage. If you are liable for damages or injuries, the costs could rise well beyond $100,000. Do you have that kind of cash on hand? This is one of the reasons this type of policy is so vital.

How to get What You Need

If the costs for premiums have you worried, you can think about raising your deductible. By doing this, you can save money in the short term - your premiums will go down - but it can cost you long-term because you will be expected to pay more in the event of a claim.

One of the best ways to verify that you're paying the right amount for your policy is to seek out competitive quotes from several different insurers. This will help you assess the standards of coverage and costs, and make sure that you're paying the right amount.

Families with teenagers should review their policies. Depending on where you live, your insurer and your individual policy, your teens could be automatically added to your policy once they reach driving age. Check with your insurer to find out more.

One way to save money on premiums is to combine policies. Many insurers offer multiple-policy discounts. If you own a home, consider combining your vehicle and home policies with the same insurer. Find out if this strategy can result in savings.

Department Of Tennessee (TN) State Government That Regulates Auto Insurance:
Web Site: http://state.tn.us/commerce/insurance/index.shtml
Email: Consumer.Affairs@state.tn.us

How To Contact Directly:
Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance
500 James Robertson Parkway
4th Floor
Nashville, TN 37243-0600
Phone: 1-615-741-2241

Tennessee (TN) Mandatory Auto Insurance Minimums

  • Liability: 25/50/10 = Bodily Injury Individual/Bodily Injury Total Per Accident/Property Damage
  • Regulations Regarding Proof of a Policy: Proof Required - If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
  • Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Coverage: Fine up to $100

How To File A Complaint About An Insurer:

Online Complaint Form From The Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance
Email Complaint Questions: CIS.Complaints@state.tn.us
On Contact The Consumer Division At:
Consumer Insurance Services
500 James Robertson Parkway, 4th Floor
Nashville, TN 37243-0574
Phone: 1-615-741-2218
Toll Free: 1-800-342-4029
FAX: 1-615-532-7389