State Insurance Laws

Idaho Auto Insurance - (ID)

To drive legally in Idaho, you must purchase auto insurance liability coverage. Additionally, the state requires that all auto policies include uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage. The goal of both of these laws is to ensure that local drivers will have the means to pay for any injuries, deaths, or damage they cause in an accident. Read on to learn more about Idaho's mandatory coverage laws and how they affect you.

Regulations You Should Know About

  • All vehicles must carry liability protection. All motor vehicles must be covered for the minimum amount required by law.
  • You must have proof of a policy with you at all times. If you are pulled over, law enforcement officers will ask you for your insurance card. Failure to present your card could result in a traffic ticket.
  • Drivers must carry a minimum of the following liability limits: $25,000 per person for bodily injury, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $15,000 per accident in property damage protection.
  • Newly issued or renewed policies must include under and uninsured motorist coverage.

Proof of a Policy

When you purchase or renew a plan, you will receive a proof of coverage card that you should keep in your vehicle at all times. If you get pulled over and do not have valid proof of a plan with you, you could be issued a traffic citation. This will result in a fine and possibly a negative mark on your driving record. The courts in this state may also charge you additional fees for driving without being covered.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Local law prohibits any vehicle policy from being issued in the state unless it includes this protection and meets the state's minimum requirements. Such protection will help pay for any injuries you sustain as a result of a collision with such a driver. You have the right to reject this add-on and eliminate it from your policy, but you must put your refusal in writing.

Department Of Idaho (ID) State Government That Regulates Automobile Insurance:

Web Site: http://itd.idaho.gov/dmv/
How To Contact Directly:
Idaho Dept. of Insurance
700 West State St.
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0043
Phone: 1-208-334-4250
Consumer Affairs: 1-208-236-6411

Idaho (ID) Mandatory Auto Coverage Minimums

  • Liability: 25/50/15 = Bodily Injury Individual/Bodily Injury Total Per Accident/Property Damage
  • Other Considerations to Make: Uninsured Motorist
  • Regulations Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required - If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
  • Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Levels: Fine up to $75

How To File A Complaint About An Insurer:

Consumer Assistance For Complaints From The Idaho Dept. of Insurance
Online complaint form Download PDF complaint form